RSS Feed

Week 36: Yes, We Have No Bananas

Caroline has been wanting a banana split ever since we were camping and she saw a picture of one at the ice cream shop. I told her we could make one at home. Someday, which is code for “I’m sure you’ll forget all about this conversation.”

So weeks pass and she actually remembered it one night as Jeff was scooping ice cream for desert. We had no bananas. She was okay with that. As long as she could have some strawberries in her dish. We had no strawberries. She was beginning to get irritated and wanted to know what other kind of fruit she could have with her ice cream. All I could think of was pineapple, but we didn’t have any. Not even in a can. In fact, the only fruit we had in the house was grapes. Turns out grapes make a mighty mean ice cream sundae, at least according to Caroline. I was willing to take her word on it.

When you have no bananas, grapes will have to do

When you have no bananas, grapes will have to do

Confession = When I tossed the grapes in the bow, I didn't actually expect her eat it, let alone like it.  I just didn't want to deal with a tantrum at at 7:30 at night.

Confession = When I tossed the grapes in the bow, I didn’t actually expect her eat it, let alone like it. I just didn’t want to deal with a tantrum at at 7:30 at night.

About mags726

There are three things extremely hard: steel, a diamond, and to know one's self. Benjamin Franklin

One response »

  1. It truly is amazing what combos kids will eat as long as it isn’t served as dinner. Tell Caroline when she comes to visit Miss Joan we will have banana splits for dessert. No grape sundaes at my house!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

