RSS Feed

Week 2: The Bridge

Posted on

This bridge will not be missed when we move!

I snapped a picture of this bridge earlier this week while taking a walk before work. I guess I should dedicate this page to my late Grandfather, Kenneth V. Heskett, as he was fond of taking pictures of bridges. This one links St. Mary’s and Calvert Counties and easily the worst part of my work day! It’s a rough bridge to cross on a bright and sunny day because the sun blinds you. But it’s a fright on a stormy day. Wind, rain, snow or a combo of all three turn my daily commute into a white-knuckled adventure.

My two miniature passengers in the backseat do not mirror my dislike. It’s not uncommon for me to hear Caroline shout out, “Look Mommy, that bird is flying next to my window!” Or Liam talk about the boats in the water way below us. Then there is the chorus of “WHEEEEEEEEEE” that they sing out as we make our descent as though they are on a roller coaster! I won’t miss this bridge when we leave Southern Maryland, that’s for sure, but I will keep the memory Caroline exclaiming “I can see the whole world from up here!” I am glad she enjoys the view.

About mags726

There are three things extremely hard: steel, a diamond, and to know one's self. Benjamin Franklin

Leave a Reply

